Effigies

Minnesota Nice

ts1aI have just completed some additions to the collection of GAPP Travis Smith. I thought it would be nice to share them with you.  Travis has the largest collection of my work in the great State of Minnesota and we have successfully collaborated on several projects in the past. Each year I want to develop a range of artworks that armigers can commission that uses their armorial bearings in more creative ways beyond that of the standard coat of arms.  I think sometimes it is overlooked just how creative we can be with heraldry and it’s usage and the results can make for a fascinating and colourful display.

ts3aIn the past I offered an effigy type figure, a knight standing by his personal standard, an equestrian figure to name but a few and so today I have pleasure in showing some of the new versions. All are creative ways in which the bearer of a coat of arms may if they want display their arms. I have also included a new version of the Patrons coat of arms.  Now there is a strict rule in heraldry that assigns a certain helmet to a certain rank.  I however have no problem with using this style tournament helm with it’s crossed bars for armigers.  Barred helms in the UK are the reserve of the Peerage but they have gold bars and the sovereign uses a completely gold barred helm.  To my mind there is no confusion using this tournament helm shown in metal throughout.  I have never painted snowflakes as charges in heraldry before I met Travis and  now I have painted many, we are soon to experiment with a mantle powdered with snow flakes and so I look forward to painting this in due course.

ts2aAlso new to this collection is Travis’ stag badge powdered with blue snowflakes and resplendent with gold antlers and hooves.  This character has found his way into the latest paintings and as a piece of art in his own right.  In fact the ‘Beasties’ as we have called them are proving to be very popular with my collectors.  I have re modelled the ‘Effigy’ and the new version of the standing knight is depicted against a banner of the arms.

Finally Travis and I share a love of medieval illumination and so I was very happy to design a new piece of Marginalia for him showing his stag.  Medieval marginalia has for me always been a fascinating study.  Here the artists often were permitted to show their sense of humour and reflect their attitudes towards aspects of society in the Middle Ages.  Whilst I cannot claim to be making any statements about contemporary society I do hope that they project a sense of light heartedness, fun and joy to the viewer.

ts5a

Travis and I will be collaborating on a few more projects before this year is out and I will write further blogs as those works are completed.  It should be said that none of this could happen without patronage, these works and the works of all my professional colleagues exist only because of the good graces of people like Travis.  I am extremely grateful and humble that he chooses to commission my work over and over again.  Deo Gratias

Andrew Stewart Jamieson

 

 

Copyright 2017 The Grand Armorial & Andrew Stewart Jamieson. This article or parts thereof may not be reproduced in any form without prior permission from the Artist. All Rights Reserved.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

