Coats of Arms

Arms for a Catholic priest

asjrm1a

I would like to share these arms painted for a patron in the United States of America.  They are the arms of a Catholic priest.  In this case the patron wanted the shield diapered which I was happy to do.  Diaper on shields can look very attractive but it can be tricky to get the balance right.  It should never detract from the principal charges, in this case three windmills.  I have never favoured perfectly symmetrical patterns as to my mind this can look  too contrived or mechanical but prefer instead to just draw the pattern as I go. This is a more spontaneous process and to my mind adds extra texture and interest.

asjrm3a

I have only to add the motto to complete this painting and I still have a further three coats to do for Catholic priests and will of course post these at a future date.

Andrew Stewart Jamieson

 

Leave a Reply

