Illuminated Manuscripts

Illuminated Armorial Hearts

 

ASJTSAHc2017xc

Many years ago I came across some pictures of a medieval illuminated book whose vellum pages were in the shape of a heart.  I logged this in my mind’s image memory bank until around 2012 when I designed these armorial hearts.  The shield of the armiger, his wife or children is displayed in between initials of themselves and their loved ones.  Linked together with a true lovers knot and surrounded with flowers, gold hearts and Acanthus decoration typical of designs found in illuminated books of hours from the mid 14th Century onwards. These are one off pieces designed specifically for the collector and make a romantic addition to any heraldic collection. I would very much like to thank those Patrons who indulged my idea by commissioning these hearts and for continuing to support my work.

ASJJRAHc2017xacASJLTAHc2017xc

Andrew Stewart Jamieson.

Leave a Reply

